Are There Any Exceptions?

Sort of. Indiana takes a few notable deviations from standard age of consent laws.

Marriage: Under Indiana law, it is a defense if the minor is married. The minimum age for marriage in Indiana is 15, and therefore there is an exception carved out to facilitate that.

Close-in-age: Technically, this “close-in-age” provision is a defense instead of an exception, but it allows a 4 year gap in age if the two are in an ongoing personal relationship. Thus, ostensibly, a an 18-year-old could avoid prosecution for having sex with a 14-year-old, provided the two were in an ongoing romantic relationship as defined by Indiana law.

Mistake of fact: Indiana is one of the few states that provides for a mistake of fact in their statutory rape laws. Thus, if someone has a reasonable, good-faith belief the individual they are having sex with is 16 or older, they can avoid criminal liability.

Age of Consent by State
State
Age of Consent
Acceptable Differences Between Ages
Alabama
 16
2
Alaska
16
3
Arizona
18
2
Arkansas
16
3
18
0
Colorado
17
4
Connecticut
16
2
Delaware
18
0
Florida
18
0
Georgia
16
0
Hawaii
16
5
Idaho
18
0
Illinois
17
0
Indiana
16
0
Iowa
16
4
Kansas
16
0
Kentucky
16
0
Louisiana
17
3
Maine
16
5
16
4
16
0
Michigan
16
0
Minnesota
16
2
Mississippi
16
2
Missouri
17
0
Montana
16
0
Nebraska
16
0
16
0
New Hampshire
16
0
New Jersey
16
4
New Mexico
16
4
New York
17
0
16
4
North Dakota
18
0
Ohio
16
0
Oklahoma
16
0
18
3
Pennsylvania
16
4
Rhode Island
16
0
South Carolina
16
0
South Dakota
16
3
Tennessee
18
4
Texas
17
3
Utah
18
10
Vermont
16
0
18
0
Washington
16
2
West Virginia
16
4
Wisconsin
18
0
16
4